WIPpet Update

I woke up this morning thinking it was Saturday, which I am sure, is wishful thinking on my part. I worked 50 hours last week, will have 55 at least this week, and I’ll put in 12 just today. I’m exhausted. So my brain decided today was the start of the weekend. Don’t I wish! But alas, it is just Wednesday, which means I have to select a WIPpet to post from the novel I haven’t written in, in like a week, save for a few hundred words I managed yesterday. My goal was to finish Nephil’s Destiny by the end of October to start a new project for NaNo, but now I don’t know if that’s going to happen, so I’m just tired and disappointed all the way around. Add to that I’m house and dog sitting for my parents for a MONTH, nursing a puppy with pneumonia back to health and dealing with my Aunt in hospice for end stage lung cancer that has moved to her brain and I’m just done. Totally done. But alas, I have selected a WIPpet. Mind you, it is one to reflect my mood, so beware, choppy seas ahead. You get 10 paragraphs for the 10th month. Simple math today. Once you’re done, go here and read all the other wonderful, hopefully not as dark, contributions to today’s WIPpet.

Abalam leaned back in his chair and considered the situation at hand. “It’s up to you what happens next, but I do need your decision.” 

Knowing she was out of time, Lux took a deep breath and offered a bright smile. “I’m going to have to decline.” 

Abalam stood. “Good. I was hoping you’d say that.” He cracked his knuckles and rolled his shoulders. “I’m pretty anxious to get started, so I think we’ll jump right in.” He snapped his fingers to gather her hair back into a ponytail, keeping it off her face. “This is going to be extremely unpleasant for you.” He picked up a pair of shears and cut her shirt off her body and slashed her jeans off at the knee before removing her shoes and socks. “Remember, I ask questions and you answer them. You must tell me the truth, and you must answer the question asked. If you fail to do so, you’ll be punished. The longer you go without giving me the information I desire, the more unpleasant this becomes. Do you understand?” 

“Yes.” 

“See? You know how it works! Have you done this before?” Abalam looked at his trays of tools admiringly. “Have you ever been tortured before, Lux? I won’t continue to ask twice. When I ask a question, I expect an answer.” 

“No.” 

Pouting, he lovingly ran his fingers over the instruments. “What spell did you use to unlock time and send Amaya and Deacon through to Atlantis?” When she looked surprised, he smiled. “Oh, yes, we know about that. Unfortunately, Lucifer and Lilith arrived after you had cast it and were unable to document the spell you used. We’d like you to tell it to us so our witches can cast it and we can go after your friends.” 

“I don’t remember.” 

Abalam’s smile got wider. “I was so hoping you’d give me a reason to do something nasty to you.” He flicked his hand and hummed as classical music began playing in the room. “I like music while I work.” He perused the selection of tools before picking up a clamp in one hand and a scalpel in the other.  

He stood and walked to the side of the chair, leaning over until his face was mere inches from her neck. Lux felt warm breath on her cheek and trembled, her whole body shaking in the cold air. Abalam’s tongue darted out and brushed over her earlobe, tasting her skin and sucking the flesh into his mouth.  

“There are many erogenous zones on the human body. Earlobes are one of the most overlooked. A scrape of teeth or a flick of a tongue can bring sexual arousal.” He brought the clamp up and pressed the cold metal to her skin. “The opposite side of that coin is pain. The more nerves that are in an area, the greater the amount of pain I can bring you with very little effort.” He clamped the tool down on her ear and pulled the flesh taut. “Feel how much that hurts with just a little pinch?”

22 Comments

  1. Swine! I wanted to jump right in there and show him what I would like to do to his erogenous zones, and none of them nice! This was a powerful, spine-tingling scene. I’m so sorry things are difficult for you right now. No matter how much I wish I could do or say something to help, there really isn’t anything. So I’ll send you a virtual hug, hope you manage to grab a little rest, and find comfort where you need it.

    Like

    • I’m glad you liked it. Abalam is one of my love-to-hate-him characters I think. He’s always so much fun to take out, dust off, and play with. Never a dull moment with him around.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is grim Sirena… but gripping. I hope Lux stays alive – I wouldn’t want to get on the bad side of Abalam.

    Really enjoying ‘Devil’s Dilemma’ BTW. Expect a review soon! 🙂

    Like

    • I’m so glad you’re enjoying it so far. I can’t wait to see the review once you’re done. Lux is in quite the pickle atm, but Abalam isn’t allowed to kill her. Lucifer is trying to “convince” her to help him overthrow Heaven, so she’s important to his cause. Hopefully she gets rescued before Abalam gets carried away.

      Like

      • Wow the plot thickens! I meant to add in my previous comment that I will keep you in my prayers. Sounds like you’re going through a really tough time. I’ll be thinking of you.

        Like

  3. Ouch, literally! Man, what a nasty customer!

    Sorry to hear about all your problems right now. When times get rough, I find it very helpful to roll the writing goals WAY back, something that’s easy to accomplish so you won’t have to kick yourself. You don’t need that above and beyond all the other stuff going on in your life right now!

    Like

    • He is a nasty customer, but oh so fun to write. Unfortunately, Abalam hasn’t been able to get his hands dirty since Book Two, and this is Seven, so I think Lux is going to have as much as she can possible handle with him right now…

      Like

  4. YAY MORE TORTURE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! anyway. I like that he’s still around and still torturing and yeah…

    If you need to talk, I’m around, remember that.

    Like

    • It’s been FIVE books since he’s gotten to torture. I really wanted to give him one last hurrah before the end of the series, so here it is. lol.

      Like

  5. Is it weird that I like this scene? I mean, I feel bad for her, but I like her attitude, and he’s at least interesting.

    I’m sorry you’re having such a rough time right now. I hope the skies clear soon.

    Like

    • I think Abalam is going to find that Lux is all he can handle. Her attitude is great. It reminds me a bit of Elizabeth in the first Pirates of the Caribbean. “I’m disinclined to acquiesce to your request”.

      Like

  6. The scene rides between fun (love it when someone is being bad) and creepy (hello torture) for me. Definitely a great mix, in my opinion. And I’m glad I’m not Lux.

    Like

  7. Poor Lux. 😦 And poor you. Big hugs!!!

    Like

    • Meh, Lux has this handled, Abalam just doesn’t know it yet. They’ll both have their hands full, and she’s certainly in dire straits, but he’s gonna have to take it as good as he gives.

      Liked by 1 person

  8. This is such a gripping scene. I actually loved how dark it was, it really drew me in.

    Sorry you’ve been having such a terrible time. You can come into my zone of chocolate and virtual hugs if you like? I’ll even wear a mask so I don’t infect you with whatever illness I have. It can be so difficult when life just keeps throwing crap at you all at once, and I think you’re handling it remarkably well. Keep on going and before you know it everything will be better again!

    Like

    • I tried to keep the dialogue and banter a little light to keep it from getting too dark because scenes like this can easily go too far. And I would very much like to go into the chocolate zone. Scoot over and make room on the couch.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. Oh, wow, that is some dark stuff! Poor Lux! She doesn’t seem too worried, though. Yikes!

    Sorry to hear about your challenges in real life. Hopefully the work and family responsibilities will let up soon.

    Like

    • Lux has a plan. Abalam will find out what it is soon enough and we’ll see who ends up coming out on top. It’ll be interesting, that’s for sure!

      Like

  10. Whew – rough seas, indeed! I’m sorry things are so down for you right now and I hope they improve soon. Regardless of anything else, great WIPpet. Very intense scene!

    Like

  11. Amy

    Oh, man. Horrible as this scene is, I do like seeing Abalam back in his element.

    Like

  12. I hadn’t met Abalam yet…I’m glad Lux has a plan. The clamp isn’t so terrible, but the thought of my earlobe in someone’s mouth when I didn’t want it there…ewwwwww!!!!!!!

    I am sending you peace and strength and presence for the coming days and beyond. I hope that pup is feeling better soon- puppy snuggles might possibly even be more healing than chocolate (although some cozying-in on Rachel’s could also be deeply restful…)

    Like

Leave a comment