A.M Liebowitz Takeover

Hey everyone! I am super excited to be hosting a takeover by A.M Liebowitz today. Amy is one of my close friends, my beta-reader, and all around go-to girl for all things writing. She’s got an amazing book coming out on November 1st called Lower Education, so I encourage everyone to pre-order your copy now! Today, Amy is joining us with her thoughts on writing lgbtq fiction, so I’ll let her take it from here.

As a side note: I’m talking about faith and fiction on here blog today, so click the link at the bottom of the page and head on over there to read it!

Why LGBTQ Fiction?

I’m so excited to be guest posting for Sirena. I admit to being a bit of a fangirl after beta reading her work for so long. She’s asked me to write a bit about lgbtq fiction. It’s a pretty broad topic, so I’ll stick with why I write it and why I think it’s important.

When I started out, I never intended to write “lgbtq fiction.” I just wanted to write good stories, preferably with a little (or a lot!) of love involved. It was a happy accident that a romantic subplot developed between two men in my novel. As it turns out, I love writing men in love.

For a variety of reasons, lots of other women like writing m/m erotica and gay romance. I can only speak to my reasons. For me, it’s a way to explore and experience a side of myself that generally doesn’t see the light of day. I love being able to see things from a guy’s-eye view.

Beyond that, I simply like seeing lgbtq people in stories. Sure, sometimes I like to write about things specific to our (broad) community. Mostly, though, I like that we can have the spotlight and solve the mystery, save the day, and find our happy-ever-after (or happy-for-now).

While I agree with others who have written on the subject that we definitely need more lgbtq lit that doesn’t focus on sex, romance, or young adult coming out, I think when well-written, those are important too. I would love if all genres featuring lgbtq characters were more visible and more widely read.

Ironically, I’m possibly in the minority when I say I’d like to see the various lgbtq tags hang around in places like Amazon—provided the appropriate literary genre tags are present too. Lgbtq is NOT a genre. Romance, western, crime drama, fantasy, dystopian…those are genres. What the lgbtq tags tell us is that the genre book features characters from our community. We need that so we can choose to read books that reflect who we are!

If you want to write lgbtq fiction (and don’t claim an identity under that umbrella), the best advice I can give is to go for it and find someone you trust to help you iron it out so you’re not writing horrible stereotypes or clichés. Personally, I think it would be great to see more lgbtq main characters. That’s one step closer to living in a world where our identities are important but they don’t define us. We can be heroes, royalty, badasses, lovers, friends, parents, renegades…regardless of our sexuality or gender.

Author bio: A. M. Leibowitz is a spouse, parent, feminist, and book-lover falling somewhere on the Geek-Nerd Spectrum. She keeps warm through the long, cold western New York winters by writing romantic plot twists and happy-for-now endings. In between noveling and editing, she blogs coffee-fueled, quirky commentary on faith, culture, writing, and her family. You can find her at:

Web site: http://amleibowitz.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/amymitchell29 (personal profile); https://www.facebook.com/UnchainedFaith (author page)

Twitter: https://twitter.com/amyunchained (@amyunchained)

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Lower-Education-M-Leibowitz-ebook/dp/B00NCA48TE/

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/473664

Barnes and Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/lower-education-a-m-leibowitz/1120325979?ean=2940046149760

2 Comments

  1. Amy

    Thanks for sharing my thoughts today! 🙂

    Like

Trackbacks

  1. Guest Post: Author Sirena N. Robinson | A.M. Leibowitz

Leave a Reply

