Wednesday!

WordPress has been down all day! I’ve been trying to post this for hours, and it’s just now, at 2:45 p.m. my time, decided to allow me to give you the WIPpet for this week.

Thanks to everyone for helping me celebrate my release last week. I’m really glad you all liked the excerpt so much. Hopefully some of you will like the books too.

So, to get this out there before wordpress decides it doesn’t like me anymore, on to the WIPpet. There are 4 paragraphs, so WIPpet math. 10-08-14. 10+8=18-14=4. Ha. There.

Looking uncomfortable, Deacon drained his cup in one gulp. “If we’re going to talk about sex, I need another drink.” 

Obligingly, Braxton poured one. “I don’t want to talk about sex. It’s not right to discuss something about Amaya when she’s not here and it’s awkward for both of us. My daughter is an adult, she’s capable of making her own decisions and she’s a wonderful, smart, beautiful, strong woman. I’m not going to ask uncomfortable questions and ask you to give me painful answers. Alaria and Amaya would both knock me loopy if they knew I was talking to you at all.” He looked pained. “It’s not that I think they’re any less capable than I am. I don’t. But sometimes, a dad just wants to poke his nose where it doesn’t belong, flex his muscles and make the young man involved with his daughter uncomfortable. Is that so wrong?” 

Recognizing that there was only one answer to that question, Deacon shook his head. “Not at all. I’d do it myself if I had a daughter.” Thinking about it, he was rather positive he would. Feeling better about the situation, he sipped from the second drink and relaxed slightly. 

Braxton looked at the bottle, then back at Deacon appraisingly. “I do believe it is my God-given responsibility to get completely shit faced after the level of discomfort I have put us both through tonight. Care to join me?”

Once you’re done with my WIPpet, go here to read all the other wonderful contributions for the week. I know you won’t be disappointed.

12 Comments

  1. Sounds like a very uncomfortable conversation. You’ve done a good job showing the awkwardness. Big congrats on the release!

    Like

  2. kathils

    Oh, too funny! I’m sure Deacon doesn’t find it as humorous as I do, but I’m right there with Braxton. Tee, hee.

    Like

  3. Great snippet 🙂 I loved Deacon’s last sentence – it fit the scene perfectly 🙂

    Like

  4. *snicker, snicker.* Heh. This is great. 🙂 Reminds me of my Wedding Day Talk, as handed to me by my mom’s bestie. Talk about subjects you never want broached between yourself and someone else…

    Like

  5. Hehehe. How awkward. I love it!

    Like

  6. hahaha I was waiting for a quip about babies and condoms from Braxton. =P

    Like

  7. Amy

    LOL! This was a great take on the dad-date talk.

    Like

    • I was a little worried about what you’d think, actually. Glad it worked!

      Like

      • Amy

        I liked it because it wasn’t the typical “You’d better be good to my poor, defenseless (and preferably sexless) little angel.” It’s not a bad thing for a dad to talk to his daughter’s boyfriends; it’s only bad for them to act like they own their daughters. If only more dads saw it this way than the other way. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  8. Ah, how awkward! This made me giggle, in a schadenfreude kind of way.
    Also, I finished the copy of Gone Girl I had from the library earlier this afternoon, so Devil’s Dilemma is next on my list! 😀

    Like

  9. I’m with Amy. Our ten year old daughter is voluptuous, and we were discussing the next few years, and we agreed that that “fathers owning daughters” mindset is – well, CREEPY. We’ve spent our kids’ lives helping them to become more and more informed about life, so that they can make their future choices from place of personal strength.

    This feels just right – it’s not an easy moment, for either of them, but they seem to handle it with grace, and it ends on a bonding note that’s reassuring and offers the chance of some comedy a few drinks further on…

    I like it. A lot!

    Like

Leave a Reply

