WIPpet

So I completely forgot about this until I saw Adrian and Amy both post links to theirs on FB. The proverbial lightbulb went off and I rushed over here to post.

Last week, I asked you guys if you would prefer to see a scene between Amaya and Deacon or a scene with the antagonists of Lilith and Lucifer. I didn’t get too much feedback, but the general consensus is that you want Amaya and Deacon, so that it what you shall get this week. I am going to give you Lilith next week, partly because I love her in all of her evil bitchiness, partly because I know Amy loves her, and partly because I think it’s a really interesting scene.

Deacon stood on the deck, wearing a pair of sweatpants with his chest bare. Beneath his bare feet was a thick blue mat and he stood in the center of it, his eyes closed and his face an expression of concentration.  

Amaya stood and watched as he moved in deliberate, graceful movements, his body stretching and flexing. She recognized the motions as tai chi, a martial arts technique that focused on the relationship between body and mind.  

A thin sheen of sweat shined on his chest and shoulders and his hair hung slightly long, just brushing over the nape of his neck and hanging down to tease his cheekbones. Amaya pressed her hand to her throat and devoured the sight of him, taking in every inch. 

Deacon’s wings were visible on his body at all times in the form of two tattoos that ran down either side of his spine from shoulder to hip, curling down the sides of his body and disappearing into the waistband of his pants. As he turned, she was given a perfect view of the muscles in his butt as he flexed and bent.  

Feeling like a voyeur, Amaya considered announcing her presence, but couldn’t quite bring herself to do so. She raked her eyes over his broad shoulders, taking in the strong planes of his chest, the hard muscles of his stomach and the narrowing of his hips. She studied his hands, the wide palms, scarred knuckles and long fingers and remembered how they had felt anchoring her body to his.  

Lifting her gaze to his face, she drifted over the dramatic slash of his cheekbones, his full mouth, strong jaw and straight eyebrows. She knew the exact shade of his eyes, even though they were closed. A cold, icy blue that bore straight into her and made her feel like he could see straight into her soul. 

“Are you planning to stand there and watch me all morning or are you eventually going to say something?” 

Embarrassment flooded Amaya when Deacon spoke. Her face flushed red and her heart tripped in her chest, slamming against her ribs hard enough that it hurt. She cleared her throat and desperately tried to think of something that made what she had been doing seem even slightly less creepy. Unable to think of anything, she took a deep breath. 

“I’m sorry.” 

Deacon picked up a towel and wiped it over his face and chest to remove the sweat from his skin. He turned to face her, his gaze intense as he took in her windblown hair, panicked look, and baggy sweats.  

“No problem. We’ll just get this out of the way now instead of later then.” 

Amaya cocked her head to the side, preparing to question him. Before she could form the words, he strode across the deck and grabbed her, crushing her against him and lifting her off her feet. She had time to suck in one breath before his mouth clamped onto hers. 

The kiss was demanding. He plundered and dominated from the very beginning, pressing her against the banister and streaking his hands over her body, gripping her hips and jerking them into his. Amaya’s fingers bit into his arms as she struggled to keep up with the storm of emotion he had unleashed within her. 

 

Woohoo, now that we can all go take our cold showers…..here’s my WIPpet math that I didn’t do until AFTER I posted this to see how creative I needed to get. It’s 8-27-14. There are 31 lines. Hmm, how to do this…..8+2+7=17 17+14=31. There! Ha! WIPpet math at it’s finest!

If you’re new to WIPpets, it’s a once weekly post of a current work in progress and the only rule is that it has to have some association with the date(you can see how loosely that can be). Once you’re done with your cold shower, go here and read all the other WIPpets.

Like it? Love it? Hate it? Sound off below and let me know what you thought. I love your feedback. And if you want to read my other WIPpets from before the migration to wordpress, go to sirenanrobinson.blogspot.com and you can find them there. Apparently my link last week didn’t work. I have no idea why, since the text in the link is correct, but I tried it and you’re right, it doesn’t work, so there’s the direct url.

Come back next week for some Lilith action!

8 Comments

  1. smexy!! I can’t wait to get to know them better.

    Like

  2. Nicole Nally

    Wow that is definitely heating things up a bit. I love that you’re showing that women can be just as distracted by a man’s appearance as men can be by women. It’s all very sensual and visual indeed.
    My only nitpick is the explanation of tai chi. It seems a bit too… explainy I suppose. Something about that entire sentence feels off to me but that might just be my crazy brain going on.
    I look forward to seeing what’s up for next week.

    Like

  3. I agree with Nicole on the Tai Chi explanation. It could use just a touch of refining.

    I think it’s funny he knew she was there the whole time. 🙂

    Like

  4. Amy

    Very steamy! He’s pretty hot. And I love how he’s all casual, like “this was gonna happen anyway, so let’s get it over with.” LOL!

    And yes, I *do* love Lilith. I can’t wait to read what she’s up to. *evil grin*

    Like

  5. kathils

    Day-um. Well. That was one heck of a way to greet the morning. Thank you. Uh-huh.

    My only nits…wait, have to go read it again. *le sigh* Nits. Yeah. My only nits are the first paragraph reads a bit clunky, and I agree with the others on the tai chi explanation. I think if you just mention that he’s doing tai chi — is the explanation that important to the story? If so, then maybe tweaking it to make it work. If not, I’d cut it. JMHO 🙂

    Like

  6. Goodness gracious, great balls of fire! Is it hot in here? Deacon is setting my computer on fire! *fans self*

    I would remove this bit: The kiss was demanding. He plundered and dominated from the very beginning,

    It’s telling us what’s going on instead of showing us. You do that quite well with the next sentences, describing his demanding actions.

    Otherwise, deliciously steamy work!

    Like

  7. Yeesh. *fans self* Love the descriptions in this scene! I think you made a good decision to share this one!

    Like

  8. Cold shower?? Why on EARTH would I want a cold shower after THAT?! Give me the full excerpt and a toy to play with!!!

    Like

Leave a comment