New Website and Updates

Well, I finally did it. I finally made the jump from Blogger to WordPress. I’m still figuring out the ins and outs, but hopefully this ends up being easier to maneuver and to deal with than my old site. Everything is still rudimentary, but we’ll get there.

With a new site, I thought I’d take the opportunity to bring everyone up to date on the things that have been going on with me. For anyone who has been following my old page, which for reference is sirenanrobinson.blogspot.com(I have a lot of excerpts of my work over there that I may or may not port here. I haven’t decided yet), you know that for the last few months, I haven’t been posting a lot. Until three or four weeks ago, I hadn’t posted anything in months.

Without getting into too many details, I made the difficult decision to leave my publisher in May of this year. We were having some insurmountable creative differences and I was completely unsatisfied with the way my work was being handled. I had been very vocal about the issues I was having with them for several months beforehand and when nothing improved, I made the decision to sever ties and find a different publisher. For any of you who happen to be publishers, take note: pushing back a release date four separate times and then surprising an author with publishing her book is NOT a good surprise. There’s this little thing called marketing and we like a chance to do it. I was very unhappy to be presented with the buy link instead of a publication date, and that’s just one of several things, the rest of which I won’t get into publicly.

Luckily enough, I happen to have a very good friend who is also my wonderful beta reader, Adrian J Smith(check her out at adrianjsmith.wordpress.com) and she helped me get in contact with her publisher, Supposed Crimes. Unfortunately, it was a risk for both of us because SC is a LGBTQ press and, well, that’s not what I write. Thankfully, they were willing to take a chance on me anyway, and I signed with them in July. I can say after six weeks that the experience isn’t even comparable. My opinions are valued and I feel like my work is appreciated and I’m being treated like part of a team instead of an annoyance. It’s been a complete 180!

While I was going through everything with my prior publisher, I didn’t even feel like writing. It was a struggle to figure out where to take the story and whether or not it was worth continuing. For me, a publisher is supposed to be someone who believes in your work and who is as passionate about it as you are–or as close to that as it can be. That’s why I pursued a small press instead of a large publishing house. Before SC, I discovered that no one other than my assigned editor at the publishing house I was with had even read the book. How can you be passionate about something you haven’t read? How can you market and push a book you know nothing about?

Long story short, I feel completely at peace with my decision to switch and I am blessed to have found SC and a publisher willing to take a risk and expand their reach to work with me. And I can happily say that the first TWO books in my series have a release date of October 1st, with the third slotted for release on April 1, 2015. No surprise publications for this author this time around. So I’m back to writing at my normal pace, I’m planning another series for when I wrap this one up, and I’m determined to get back to blogging.

Welcome to my new site. I hope this is the first post of many.

Leave a Reply

